Borderline

He Waited on the Couch to Die

From ‘The Art Spirit’, by Robert Henri:

‘Cherish your own emotions and never undervalue them.’

‘We are not here to do what has already been done.’

‘I have little interest in teaching you what I know. I wish to stimulate you to tell me what YOU know. In my office towards you, I am simply trying to improve my own environment.’

The last one particularly sticks in my mind right now. I have finally undertaken to start some private art lessons. They will be beginning soonish. The aim is to improve my technique, which is I think the most lacking part of my work. I understand that technique is not everything, and that it can be improved by practice, but I also worry that I waste much time in laziness and not knowing how to practice something right (after all, if you don’t know how to do something to begin…

View original post 350 more words

Leave a Reply

